Tasting Notes: Ommegawd Belgian Amber Ale 04.08.14

IMG_7775

Appearance: Amber colour; a bit lighter than it appears above. Not much haze (I’m sure there will be none after another six weeks in the fridge). Head retention a little lacking by my usual standards, much like Saison des Pluies.

Smell: Nice balance between sweet fresh grain, phenolic belgian yeast that’s not too assertive, and just a hint of the spices.

Taste: Spices much more apparent. Peppery and slightly citrusy coriander like flavours. Fairly high carbonation as intended. Velvety texture with medium body. Slightly bitter aftertaste with just a hint of pepper heat.

Overall: Quite good, but I would call this a spice beer. The spice level is not overpowering, but it does undeniably take center stage, which I did not intend. For that reason, I wouldn’t consider this recipe a success. It’s certainly not a good Rare Vos clone. Next time, I’d cut the spice addition in half, and pitch a yeast that produces more fruity esters.

